NRPE: Command ‘check_command’ not defined

Recently while trying to monitor a process with Nagios, when I ran following command following command from Nagios Server I got an error.

$ check_nrpe -H -c check_command


NRPE: Command ‘check_command’ not defined

The output showing that check_command is not defined in the servers nrep_local.cfg file.

When I cross checked about it, above command definition is defined in nrpe_locle.cfg file, even though I am getting the error.

When I am trying to recap I thought most probably the thing I missed is restarting the nagios-nrpe-server daemon.

After restarting nagios-nrpe-server daemon with following command in, I am able to detect the process as its running.

$ service nagios-nrpe-server restart

After restarting when I ran same command from Nagios Server got the output as expected:

$ check_nrpe -H -c check_command


status ok


By Sandeep Posted in Nagios

Leave a Reply

